Quick review of Lifeproof Nuud iPhone 5s case

For years I’ve been looking for a good waterproof case for my iPhone. There are only a few conditions to meet the “good” rating, but many have failed.

A good waterproof case is: 

– waterproof to >1m 

– shock proof 

– maintains touch screen sensitivity 

– reasonably thin

With that in mind I’ve tried quite a few cases. The first was, unsurprisingly, lifeproof for iPhone 4s. It was light, reasonably compact, and was waterproof. The major drawback was the thin plastic film that it had to deal off the screen, it wasn’t flat on the iPhone screen which made texting a bit of a pain in the ass.

Next came the lifeproof fre for iphone 5, this came with promises for better screen sensitivity while maintaining all the positives from the previous version. The verdict: slightly better sensitivity but just not enough to make a difference for serial messaging (or in this case blogging).

I dug a little deeper and found mixed reviews about the Atlas ID by Incipio. It had a solid, flat, glass panel which promised to have good screen sensitivity and the case also maintains TouchID with iPhone 5s. In short, the screen sensitivity sucked. I had to press down hard for anything to register on the touch screen and TouchID only worked about half the time anyway. Well, that was a major disappointment and a waste of $80. In fact if anyone wants to give this case a go, I still have it, it’s up for grabs.

Just as I was about to give up on my search for a good waterproof case, I decided to give the Lifeproof Nuud a shot. My experience with it has been nothing short of life changing! The case looks great, it’s light, it comes with an adhesive screen protector, I keep TouchID and best of all there is NOTHING between my fingers and he screen! The screen protector is only to protect against scratches and has nothing to do with the waterproofness of the case.

So there we havd it, I have found the greatest waterproof case for iPhone and it was less than $80 on eBay.  Keep an eye out for a more in depth review of this case in the near future.

Leave a comment